Inclusion Criteria

The following inclusion criteria will be applied:

  1. Ischemic Stroke (IS) or Hemorrhagic Stroke (HS)
  2. Age 18-50
  3. Consecutive patients

TIA is defined as a rapidly evolving focal neurological deficit, without positive phenomena such as twitches, jerks or myoclonus, with no other than vascular cause lasting less than 24 hours. Acute stroke is defined similarly, but with symptoms persisting for more than 24 hours. On the basis of neuro-imaging, stroke is further divided into intracerebral hemorrhage and ischemic stroke. Hemorrhagic transformation of an ischemic stroke will be classified as an ischemic stroke.

Exclusion criteria:

  1. Traumatic intracerebral hematoma
  2. Intracerebral hematoma due to intracerebral malignancy or subarachnoid hemorrhage (SAH)
  3. Any iatrogenic stroke as a result of surgery or any other medical interventions
  4. Cerebral venous thrombosis with or without brain ischemia/cerebral hemorrhage
  5. Retinal infarction